EVENTS: This Saturday! COMBO’s Winning Songwriters’ Showcase & Awards Show – Sat. Nov. 18th

EVENTS: This Saturday! COMBO’s Winning Songwriters’ Showcase & Awards Show – Sat. Nov. 18th

Jenny Shawhan (from her website) – Showcasing at COMBO’s Songwriters Showcase on Nov. 18th

COMBO recently ran a Songwriting Contest where 19 songs were selected by our judges to be included on a compilation CD that will be given out to music professionals all over the country. Those songwriters have been asked to showcase their songs during our Awards Celebration which awards Colorado music-related businesses for their contributions to helping out musicians throughout the state. The Awards & Showcase Ceremonies will take place from 8:00 until 10:00 p.m. At 10:30, “Fifty Cent Friend” will take the stage to play some of your favorite cover tunes as well as many of their own award-winning originals. Terrific FUN band featuring COMBO’s own Joel Ashmore on Bass. Come one, come all. Free! And since the Hard Rock Café is a full-restaurant, bring the family, enjoy dinner, and support our local songwriter/musicians!

What: COMBO’s Songwriting Contest Winners’ Showcase & Awards Show
When: Saturday, November 18th
Where: Denver’s Hard Rock Café, 16th Street Mall
Time: 8:00 to 10:00 p.m. – And winning songwriter Joel Ashmore’s Band!
Cost: FREE!
Age: All ages!

Showcase performances by [not in this order] Kenzie Culver, Michael Morrow, Melissa & Jason Lycan; Jeffrey Dallet; Sam Shoop; Jerry Greene; Erik Nelson; Marisa Nikole; Andy Palmer, and Spener Townshend Hughes and Jonathan Bray of The Hollow – and, don’t forget, finishing out the evening will be Jenny Shawhan with her new single release and the band Fifty Dollar Friend with Joel Ashmore, Doug Moe, Guido Valeri, Felix Abrams and Steve Fitzgerald!

1. “Warrior” by Marisa Nikole
2. “Afraid of Being Saved” by Kenzie Culver
3. “Butcher Or The Surgeon” by Spencer Townshend Hughes & Sid Riggs
4. “The Switch” by Andy Palmer
5. “Red Hill Road” John Bunzli
6. “Dirty Little Love Song” by Michael Morrow
7. “Odd Ball Blues” by Jeffrey Dallet
8. “Nothin’ Comes Easy (No Way)” by Erik Nelson & Michael Dunn
9. “More Of This” by Carolyn Hunter
10. “Let It Roll On” by Steve Shanholtzer
11. “Free Flight” by Steve Shanholtzer & Will Pearsall
12. “How Do You Make Love Stay” by Steve Shanholtzer & Gary Smalley
13. ” Comforting” by Samuel Shoop
14. “Mariposa (feat. Joe Anderies)” by Joel Ashmore
15. “Fly Away” by Melissa Lycan
16. “Wait To Rust” by Kayla Marque
17. “Paid In Full” by Spencer Townshend Hughes & Samantha Rae
18. “Win This Time” by Jerry Greene
19. “Santa’s Wish” by George Whitesell

Some of the Music Businesses Being Honored This Year Are:
PROs & Songwriting Groups: ASCAP; BMI; SESAC; Nashville Songwriters Association Int’l – Denver, CO Spgs & Longmont Chapters
Promotion Companies/ Entertainment Lawyers: Bendickson Productions Bands4Bands; CODA, Inc.; Stewart, Shortridge & Fitzke, P.C.; Eclectic Concerts (Dazzle)
Music Magazines: The Scene; University of Colorado – Music Program; 5280
Clubs & Venues: Oriental Theater; Marquis Theater; Hodi’s Half Note; Hard Rock Café;
Meeting Places: Denver Musician Association; Denver Ramada Inn; Bowman’s Bar and Vinyl; American Lifestyle Furniture
Speakers:: Stan Soocher, Esq.; Terry Woodford; Rachel Alena; Dick Weissman; Jake Jabs
Recording Studios: Rocky Mountain Recorders; Blasting Room Studios (Ft. Collins); The Decibel Garden; Recordium Room
Musicians’ Supplies: Elite Sound (Denver); Music-go-Round; Meeker Music, Inc./CO Spgs;
Marck Time Music (Pueblo); Mega Music (Sterling); Mesa Music (Grand Junction); Rupp’s Drums (Denver)
Musicians’ Services: Century West Productions; Globalsound (Broomfield); Doghouse Studios (Lafayette)
Other Music Non-Profits: Colorado Blues Society; Mile High Blues Society; Setting the Stage;
Tri-Lake Arts; Denver Open Media; KUVO
Board Members & Consultants: David Barber; Annette Cannon; Jahna Eichel; Clark Hagan;
Johnnie Johnson; Mark King; Terry Minggia; Andrew Pike; Angela Whaley; Wm. “Robby” Roberts; John Brick; Todd Myers, Esq., and Alex Teitz
Special Award – Morris Beegle

Categories: Events

No comments yet.

Leave a reply