Chris Mauna & Adam Cave (from Facebook)

Music teachers play an integral role in stewarding the future promise of young musicians. That’s the underlying theme behind the Music Educator Award, a joint honor presented by the Recording Academy and the GRAMMY Museum to recognize current educators (kindergarten through college, public, and private schools) who have made a significant and lasting contribution to the field of music education.

A total of 10 music teachers spanning eight states have been announced as finalists for the 2018 Music Educator Award.

● Pamela Andrews: Station Camp Elementary School, Gallatin, Tenn.
● Victor de los Santos: Santa Ana High School, Santa Ana, Calif.
● Michelle Droe: Lincoln Elementary, Cedar Falls, Iowa
● Curtis Gaesser: Folsom High School, Folsom, Calif.
● Ralph Jackson: Bridle Path Elementary School, Lansdale, Pa.
● Brandi Jason: Liberty High School, Eldersburg, Md.
● Chris Maunu: Arvada West High School, Arvada, Colo.
● Darren McCoy: Oak Harbor High School, Oak Harbor, Wash.
● Melissa Salguero: P.S. 48 Joseph R. Drake, Bronx, N.Y.
● Vicky Stockton: New York State School for the Deaf, Rome, N.Y.

Selected from the 10 finalists, the 2018 Music Educator Award recipient will be flown to New York City during GRAMMY Week in January 2018. The recipient will attend the 60th GRAMMY Awards ceremony and a range of Museum events, in addition to receiving a $10,000 honorarium.

The nine finalists will receive a $1,000 honorarium, and the schools of all 10 finalists will receive matching grants.

The 2018 recipient will be announced in January. In the meantime, the application process for the 2019 Music Educator Award is now open.


Leave a Reply

Close Search Window