BYERS – According to Arapahoe County, the permit for Riot Fest 2014 has been denied.

Arapahoe County posted on their website their zoning department notified Riot Fest Corp./Soda Jerk Promotions of the decision on Friday.

Arapahoe County cited public safety concerns for why they denied the permit in a denial letter:

    “Due to the amount of traffic congestion from Riot Fest, emergency service providers would not be able to serve the residents of Byers, the surrounding areas, or the attendees of Riot Fest on a timely basis. In addition, the congestion and configuration of the event parking/camping would result in pedestrian/vehicle conflicts along Bradbury Road and I-70. In the case of a disaster at Riot Fest, the ability to evacuate the site quickly would be impaired by the limited access and the existing roadway infrastructure and network.”

Riot Fest had promised Arapahoe County they would mitigate the traffic impact, but the county claimed these efforts would only be “partially successful.”

More than 17,000 were projected to attend in 2014. Coordinators said they were expecting at least 2,100 campsites to be set up for festival-goers.

Performers at Riot Fest include big names like the Cure, the National, Rise Against, Weezer, the Flaming Lips, Wu-Tang Clan and TV On The Radio.

Riot Fest has 10 calendar days to appeal the decision. 9NEWS has contacted Riot Fest organizers for comment. They said on Facebook:

    “Due to circumstances beyond our control and despite lots of support for Riot Fest & Sideshow in Byers, May Farms is no longer available to host Riot Fest. A nearby alternate location will be announced early next week. We know this sucks, we’re as disappointed as you are, but if you could be a little patient with us, we’ll have more information ASAP. All tickets will be honored at the new location. Riot Fest in Denver is NOT cancelled, the show will go on, and rock n roll never dies.”

Blair Shiff, KUSA
(KUSA-TV © 2014 Multimedia Holdings Corporation)


[Editor’s note: This event is extremely important to COMBO as Riot Fest has been a huge supporter of COMBO by providing a financial donation to our organization.]

* * * * *


Brian Message has stepped down as chair of the MMF after four years. The Board of the MMF have unanimously elected Diane Wagg and Stephen Budd to replace him as co-chairs.

Brian said: “Stepping back from my duties as chair of the MMF allows me time to focus on the economics of music streaming, in particular, how revenue from fans actually gets back to artists and managers. New rules need to be set so that all those within the music value chain can benefit and feel good about the structure.”

Diane and Stephen said: “It is an honour to follow in Brian’s footsteps after the tremendous work he has done, serving the interests of managers and their artists. We are excited and privileged to be continuing that good work.”

Both Budd and Wagg are long-term Artist and Record Producer managers who continue to be engaged actively in day-to-day management.


Some of the artists represented by MMF members are Robbie Williams * Keane * Kaiser Chiefs * The Wombats * James Morrison * Eliza Doolittle * Bombay Bicycle Club * The Feeling * Kings of Leon * Imogen Heap * Snow Patrol * Paul McCartney * La Roux * Leona Lewis * Kate Nash * Foals * White Lies * Franz Ferdinand * Lynard Skynard * Pendulum * Just Jack * Arctic Monkeys * Chase & Status * JLS * Damien Rice * …and many more.

[Contributed by Steve Garvan – http://www.garvanmanagement.com ]

Leave a Reply

Close Search Window